FC-1 Academy Elite Wins US Youth Soccer National Presidents Cup

Chicago KICS, Chicago Empire & Synergy Premier Finish As National Finalists

FC-1 Academy Elite Wins US Youth Soccer National Presidents Cup

FC-1 Academy 2008 Girls Elite won the 14U Girls US Youth Soccer National Presidents Cup with a 3-0 win over North Union United (PA).  The win is the first National Championship in club history and caps an impressive season that included Presidents Cup titles at the state and regional level & State Premiership Championship.


Kaya Schneider opened the scoring 45 seconds in on a shot from 35 yards out on a great pass from Ella Beach.  Meghan Rupprecht added to the lead with a perfect corner kick that deflected off a defender and Nadia Barbieri finished off the scoring with a beautiful free kick that hooked around the wall in into the side netting.  


Goalie Reece Crosby gets the shut out, but the defensive unit as a whole proved to be the difference in the match. After losing 2-0 in their first group play match, which was against North Union United, the defense stepped up in the final not allowing a score.


Congratulations to the 2022 US Youth Soccer National Presidents Cup Champions 

  • Nadia Barbieri
  • Ella Beach
  • Chloe Beach 
  • Reese Crosby
  • Jaime Devine
  • Cecelia Durow
  • Lindsay Farbman
  • Claire Georgees
  • Tinsae Geyer
  • Morgan Link
  • Caitlyn Panek
  • Emily Petersen
  • Meghan Ruppercht
  • Ellie Schneider
  • Kaya Schneider
  • Cathrine Shean
  • Lucia Trautman
  • Jessica Wang
  • Sophia Wenk
  • Kyle Kurz, Head Coach


Overall, Illinois teams had an impressive run at the with four of six teams advancing to the USYS National Presidents Cup Final.  FC-1's victory was Illinois' 12th National Presidents Cup title.


Here's a look at how all of the Illinois teams faired at the US Youth Soccer National Presidents Cup

  • 14U Girls FC-1 Academy Elite: National Presidents Cup Champions
  • 16U Boys Chicago Kics: National Presidents Cup Finalists
  • 18U Girls Chicago Empire: National Presidents Cup Finalists
  • 19U Boys Synergy Premier SC: National Presidents Cup Finalists
  • 13U Girls Campton United:  Finished group play 2-1 but failed to advance due to goal differential
  • 13U Boys Chicago Fire Youth Soccer Club: Finished 0-3 in group play

In addition to the team accomplishments, 23 Illinois players earned individual awards for their efforts on the pitch.


Most Valuable Player

  • Gavin Wooldridge, Synergy Premier

Golden Glove Winner  (Best Goalkeeper)

  • Edwin Andrade, Chicago KICS FC
  • Caroline Dorian, Chicago Empire FC

Golden Boot Winner (Top Goal Scorer)

  • Omar Gonzales, Chicago KICS FC
  • Peyton Olinski, Chicago Empire FC

Best XI Selections

  • Heath Baffa, Chicago Fire Youth Soccer Club
  • Georgia Smith, Campton United
  • Brooklyn Grossi, Campton United
  • Sophia Wollenberg, Campton United
  • Claire Georgees, FC-1 Academy Elite
  • Caitlyn Panek,  FC-1 Academy Elite
  • Morgan Link, FC-1 Academy Elite
  • Kaya Schneider FC-1 Academy Elite
  • Rafael Rios, Chicago KICS FC
  • Kevin Lara Guillen,  Chicago KICS FC
  • Erik Sanchez, Chicago KICS FC
  • Roman Marsh,  Chicago KICS FC
  • Bridget Whiteside,  Chicago Empire FC
  • Emily Petring,  Chicago Empire FC
  • Lydia Breslow,  Chicago Empire FC
  • Gavin Wooldridge,   Synergy Premier
  • Zachary Floss,  Synergy Premier
  • Diego Molina,  Synergy Premier